Despicable Me Minion Cupcakes

I think that Twinkies were meant to be Minion cupcakes… truly this makes for the Twinkies finest hour! ūüôāimage

I thought I would share a quick post about a Despicable Me birthday cake and minion cupcakes that I recently made. Not a lot of narrative today, I’ll let the cute little minions do all the talking!¬†

image

image

Minion Cake Inside collage

image

A quick overview on what I made…

For the Cupcakes:

  • I used Twinkies that I briefly refrigerated and cut in half for my little minions.
  • To create the smiles and to stick on the Wilton eyes, I used some store bought black frosting (the kind that comes in a tube).
  • I used brown sprinkles to do the hair… I think next time I might try thin black licorice as I think it will be much easier to work with!
  • Regular American frosting colored to match the minions overalls.
  • I made both vanilla and chocolate cupcakes.
  • There are several videos on YouTube and elsewhere that provide great tutorials on how to make the minion cupcakes.

For the cake:

  • The cake is a new recipe, it’s a sour cream chocolate pound cake by Leite’s Culinaria. I did substitute the water for coffee.
  • The frosting and filling is Italian meringue buttercream… An old favorite!
  • I made a small batch of marshmallows and dyed them yellow and added eyes… thought they would serve as a nice accent to the cake, tie it into the Despicable Me theme. ¬†The kids loved them!

These were a lot of fun to make!  If you decide to make them, I would love to see pictures of your creations!

ENJOY!

2 thoughts on “Despicable Me Minion Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

