Determination in the Kitchen ~ Banana and Pineapple Cupcakes

There’s a fine line between stubbornness
and the positive side of that, which is dogged determination.

Jeb Bush Hummingbird Post 2

It all started with two perfectly ripe bananas. In my world, two almost black bananas means that it is time to bake something.

Hummingbird Post 5

I found a lovely Martha Stewart recipe via Pinterest that called for 1 1/2 cups of bananas.  Unfortunately, my bananas came in at just under a cup.  Not enough!  So, here is where my stubbornness, I mean determination kicked in…  It was clear that I was not going to rest until some cupcakes happened in my kitchen, so I had to find a substitute, so I started doing some searching.

Hummingbird Post 1

I probably could have just made a couple adjustments to the other ingredients and made fewer cupcakes, but because the recipe only made a mere 12 cupcakes, I decided to try to find a suitable substitute for the rest of the bananas.

Hummingbird Post 3

Enter, a can of crushed pineapple!!  YES, this would work perfectly!  I started adding pineapple to my bananas, measured them up to the 1 1/2 cups needed, said a quick prayer that the acidity of the pineapple wouldn’t affect the other ingredients, mixed a little, then scooped out 12 portions of banana and pineapple batter.

Hummingbird Post 4

And this is what my stubbornness determination produced!   Beautiful Banana Pineapple cupcakes!  Well, that’s what I am calling them, but the are pretty similar to my recent Hummingbird Cake.  So, determination is a good thing and the fruits, or in this case, cupcakes of my labor tasted quite good and were well worth the effort!  Hummingbird Post 6

Banana Pineapple Cupcakes
Inspired by Martha Steward recipe

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
1 cup mashed bananas (about 2 ripe bananas)
1/2 cup crushed pineapple, with juice
2 large eggs
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a 12 cup muffin pan with liners.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  • In a small bowl, mix together butter, mashed bananas, pineapple, eggs, and vanilla.
  • Combine wet and dry ingredients, stir to combine but do not overmix.
  • Evenly divide batter among muffin cups.
  • Bake until a toothpick inserted in a cupcake comes out clean, about 25 to 30 minutes.
  • Immediately remove cupcakes from pan and cool completely on a rack. ‘
  • Frost with frosting of choice, I made a vanilla buttercream.  These would also be good with cream cheese frosting.

NOTES:

  • I also ran out of disposable piping bags so I used the decorating technique with a ziploc bag referenced here.

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

