Instant Classic ~ Braised Chicken and Kale with White Wine

Some recipes are so good that they instantly become classics…

…this recipe will live in my kitchen repertoire henceforth, now and forevermore.Paprika Chicken 3

Words cannot express how good this recipe is!  You might be thinking that this is just another chicken dish, but it is not just another chicken dish. The blend of flavors in this recipe come together so beautifully and creates a dish that is truly complex and special!   I originally PINned this recipe from a lovely food blog called Sweet Sugar Bean where it is called Braised Chicken and Kale with Paprika and White Wine.  Sweet Sugar Bean adapted the recipe from Bon Appetit Magazine and there it is called Google’s Braised Chicken and Kale.  Whatever the recipe is called, I’m just glad that I found the recipe!

What I also love about this recipe is that its easy to throw together.  Apart from the braising time, this recipe comes together quickly.  As usual I made a couple adaptations to the original recipe and even with these changes it turned out good!  I didn’t have the fresh rosemary and thyme so I used my dried herbs. I also used smoked paprika and strongly recommend using this is you have it on hand.

Paprika Chicken Seasonings

I cut the amount of chicken in the recipe.  I am not terribly good about eating leftovers.  I generally will eat it for dinner and then maybe lunch and that’s it.  If I eat it after that point I have find some way to reinvent whatever it is.

I think that its important to really take the time to brown your meat well…  it makes a big difference!

Paprika Chicken

I love kale and I think that the beautiful picture of the dish on Pinterest and the fact that it included kale was what sold me!  I’ll be honest I wasn’t sure how all these flavors coming together would work.  I mean, paprika, rosemary, thyme, cream, wine, broth and then a touch of maple syrup?   I really like trying new flavor combinations, so I was excited to go ahead and give this a try!  I am so glad I did because they all blend together beautifully!  The adaptation that Sweet Sugar Bean does, and I followed, was the addition of cream and maple syrup. I think that Google should consider giving this change a try!

Paprika 7

I decided to do a quick cook of some diced potatoes… well, mainly because I forgot to put them in the oven to roast! I sauteed the potatoes in a frying pan with a little olive oil and seasoned them with salt and pepper.  They turned out really good and were a perfect compliment to the chicken and kale.

Paprika Chicken Fried Potatoes

The sauce was amazing!  I can’t believe that this dish is served to the employees at Google, in their cafeteria!  I’d love coming to work at a place that served such excellent food!  I would also have some issues if I worked at a place that served this in the cafeteria, so I’ll just be satisfied with making it on occasion for myself (and perhaps others)!

Paprika Chicken 6

I urge you to give this a try… to add this recipe to your kitchen repertoire… to be showered with praise at your next dinner party when you unveil this great dish!   You won’t be disappointed!

Paprika Chicken 4

Braised Chicken and Kale with White Wine
Serves 2 + 1 small lunch the next day!

5 chicken thighs
1 tablespoon smoked paprika
Kosher salt, freshly ground pepper
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 medium onion, sliced
2 garlic cloves, sliced
1 1/2 cups chicken broth
3/4 cups dry white wine
1 teaspoon dried rosemary
2 teaspoons dried thyme
1 large bunch kale, center ribs and stems removed, rolled and juliene cut into 1/2-inch strips
1 tablespoon maple syrup
1/4 cup heavy cream
Lemon wedges

  • Season the chicken with paprika, rosemary, thyme and salt, pepper.  Rub seasoning into the meat (making sure you get under the skin) and set aside.
  • In a large a large frying pan over medium heat ad olive oil and brown chicken, starting with skin side down (about 5 minutes), turning and cooking on the other side for another 3-4 minutes.  Transfer browned chicken to a plate.
  • To reserved dripping add onion and garlic and cook, stirring often, until softened about 5 minutes.
  • Add broth and wine and return chicken to pan.  Bring to a boil, cover and reduce heat to a simmer and cook for 30 minutes.
  • Add kale, cream and maple syrup to the pan and cover and cook for another 10 minutes.
  • Serve with Pan “Roasted” Potatoes and lemon wedges

Pan “Roasted’ Potatoes

1 large russet potato, peeled and diced into small pieces
3 tablespoons olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

  • In medium frying pan over medium-high heat add olive oil. Allow the oil to heat for about 3 minutes.
  • Make sure your potatoes are well dried and add them to the pan.
  • Allow them to cook well on one side before stirring, continue to stir them until they are well browned on all sides.
  • Season with salt and pepper to taste.

NOTES:

  • Choose the right pan…  When braising meat you want to be sure to not completely submerge the meat in liquid.  The liquid should really only come half way up the meat.   I used a wide pan that has sides that come up about 2 inches or so.
  • Although I halved the recipe I adjusted the measurements so that I would have more of the broth… SO glad that I did!

As always… ENJOY!

2 thoughts on “Instant Classic ~ Braised Chicken and Kale with White Wine

  1. Pingback: Braised Chicken with Golden Beets and Kale - Kosher Food Blog - This American Bite

  2. Pingback: Braised Chicken with Golden Beets and Kale |

Leave a Reply

