Brown Butter Blondies with Dried Blueberries, Walnuts and Chocolate

If blueberries have one of the highest antioxidant capacities…

does adding them to blondies automatically make it a healthy dessert?

Blondies 4

Since my introduction to dried blueberries, I have been considering new ways to use them.  I have been contemplating adding them to chocolate chip cookies, considering making a bundt cake so that I can add a few there, even thought about adding them to a pan of brownies.

Blueberry walnut chocolate

I believe that all of those options would be good, but when I ran across this Butterscotch Blondies recipe in my Joy of Cooking cookbook, I knew that I had the perfect home for my dried blueberries.

blueberry walnut chocolate2

The thing that attracted me to this recipe was when it said to cook the butter until it was a light golden brown… yes, the recipe had me at the browned butter… I mean how could this not be a perfect recipe!  Basically a blondie is like a brownie, minus the melted chocolate.  You end up treating the brown sugar like you would the chocolate and essentially creating a nice butterscotch.  The possibilities are endless as far as the add ins.  Walnuts, dried blueberries and chocolate chips were my cast of characters today, but you can do any number of interesting combinations.

Blondies 3

These are quite rich, which are why I opted to cut them in such small squares, you know a little portion control.

Blondies

As I eat another one of these, I guess you could also consider this a chocolate chip cookie baked in a pan.  However you choose to define these, I can tell you that they are good!   One of my favorite thing about making blondies, and brownies for that matter, is that you can just melt the butter!  For any of you fellow bakers out there that are like me and often forget to take that butter out to soften… being able to just melt the butter is a beautiful thing!

Blondies 2

So, the question still remains as to whether these lovely little blueberry infused blondies be considered healthy?  Let me eat a couple more and I’ll let you know how I feel!  🙂

Brown Butter Blondies with Dried Blueberries, Walnuts and Chocolate
Slightly adapted from the cookbook Joy of Cooking
Serves 20 (if everyone only eats ONE small square… highly unlikely!)

1 cup all purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
1/3 cup packed dark brown sugar
1/4 cup sugar
1 large egg
1 large egg yolk
1 tablespoon light corn syrup
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup chopped, toasted walnuts
1/2 cup chocolate chips
1/2 cup dried wild blueberries (purchased mine from Trader Joe’s)

  • Preheat oven to 350, spray an 8 inch square baking pan with butter spray and line with foil or parchment paper.
  • Add butter to a medium heavy saucepan, melt, then boil, stirring constantly until light golden brown.  Be careful to not burn the butter.
  • Add brown sugars white sugar to butter and whisk together thoroughly until well combined.
  • Remove brown sugar butter mixture from heat let cool to barely warm
  • Stir in flour mixture, walnuts, chocolate chips and dried blueberries and mix until combined.
  • Scrape mixture into prepared pan. Bake until the top is golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, about 25 to 30 minutes.  Cool completely in the pan on a rack.
  • Using parchment paper or foil, remove from pan and cut into small squares.

ENJOY!

One thought on “Brown Butter Blondies with Dried Blueberries, Walnuts and Chocolate

Leave a Reply

