Homemade Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

“Ice cream is happiness condensed.” 
Jessi Lane Adams

image

I made my first batch of homemade ice cream.  It blew my mind.  I mean, pure, unadulterated happiness by the spoonful.  It was hard for me to stop eating it to even write this post… This will be a short post, mostly pictures, so I can go get another bowl…

Ice cream collage

I used the Leite’s Culinaria Vanilla Bean Ice Cream recipe… It had been well tested and had lots of good comments. I had some vanilla beans that I was waiting for the perfect recipe to use, and I believe that this was the perfect recipe to really showcase the vanilla bean.  Look at all those flecks of vanilla goodness floating in that custard!

image

Of all the flavor combinations I could have made, you may be wondering, why vanilla?  I guess I feel about ice cream, the way I feel about cake.  I think the test of a good baker is in how good their vanilla cake tastes.  Anytime I go to a bakery, I always try the vanilla.  I may order other flavors as well, but at least one thing has to be vanilla.  I am always working on perfecting and adding to my vanilla cake arsenal.   I figured I should use the same approach in ice cream making, work on mastering the basics, a good vanilla bean ice cream.  If I can master this, the options are really limitless!  I can’t wait to get to work on pushing those limits…

Homemade Ice Cream

Vanilla ice cream also serves as a clean canvas to add all types of toppings.  I decided to do a drizzle of caramel and some sliced almonds on one bowl.  A very nice flavor combination!  This ice cream was not overly sweet, very vanilla-y and rich and creamy.  Yes, definitely condensed happiness!

Homemade vanilla bean ice cream

This recipe can be found here on the Leite’s Culinaria website.  It provides two ways to make the ice cream, both with and without an ice cream maker.  I happen to be the proud new owner of a new (well, new to me!) Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker that I purchased for $10 on Craigslist… huge score!!  It’s barely been used and works perfectly!

homemade ic collage

I hope you will make this soon and enjoy it as much as I am… it is SO good!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

  1. When I come to visit…no excuses!!
    I am keeping every item so that I won’t forget what I want to indulge in.
    First item up those decadent MUSSELS!

  2. Pingback: Apple Pie Love | Savor.Good.Food

Leave a Reply

