Champagne Mango and Strawberry Cupcakes

Lose yourself in the process...

Strawberry mango cupcake

That is how I am about cooking… When I am in the kitchen, I can get started on a dish and before I realize it is late in the midnight hour and I am still strangely energized and determined to see whatever I am making come to fruition. My late night kitchen episodes usually involve baked goods. This time was no different, I was determined to make something with this deliciously lovely champagne mango and strawberries.

Champagne mango

Champagne mangoes have a different flavor from traditional mangoes. To me they are sweeter and have a little more tartness. The season for these mangoes is short, so if you see one in your grocery store you should definitely take advantage of their unique flavor.  You can tell from the few brown spots that I have been holding on to this one for a special purpose!

I decided to pair strawberries with the mango because I had an abundance of strawberries that I needed to use. Cupcakes are always a go to option for baking, especially when I am trying new things. I often half the recipe and end up with a couple cupcakes to test and share and don’t have to feel bad about making a a lot.

photo (2)

I know I have mentioned my favorite chocolate cake recipe, but I don’t think that I have shared what is my current favorite vanilla cupcake recipe.  Vanilla cake is interesting, a good vanilla cake is amazing but unfortunately I have had my fair share of dry and flavorless vanilla cakes.  I think making vanilla cake is an art form and many people work for years to perfect it.  The one that I tend to use for cupcakes is a recipe I found on the blog, Pastry Affair.  I think I like this one because it uses both oil, which I think helps with the moistness and butter which gives it great flavor.  Finally it uses sour cream which I believe adds to the richness, plus my Meme used sour cream in her pound cake, so it has to add to the goodness!  I also like using a vanilla pound cake recipe for cupcakes.  In fact, my pineapple rum cupcakes used a pound cake type recipe.  That recipe is good when you need a denser cake to add heavy toppings to (i.e. rum caramelized pineapple chunks!) and don’t want the cake to collapse on you!

mango collage

Once I find a recipe I like, I begin playing around with it to see how it handles different flavor additions.  Today it will be champagne mango puree, topped with a combination of mango and strawberry and perhaps filled with a quick strawberry jam (I do have a lot of strawberries to use)!

strawberry mango cupcake collage

These turned out really, really good!  I love vanilla cakes infused with fruit and this one didn’t disappoint!  I hope you go out to find some champagne mangoes and make something good with them!

Champagne Mango and Strawberry CupcakesWhisk and bowls
Adapted from Pastry Affair
Makes about 16 cupcakes

1/2 stick unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1/3 cup sour cream
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 3/4 cups cake flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup milk
1/3 cup mango puree

Strawberry Puree Filling
1/3 cup strawberry puree
1/2 tablespoon confectioner sugar

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a muffin pan with baking cups.
  • In a stand mixer, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 4 minutes.
  • Add the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition.
  • In a small bowl, mix together the sour cream, vegetable oil, and vanilla extract and add to mixer, combine until everything is well incorporated.
  • In a separate bowl whisk together cake flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt, slowly add this to the mixer.
  • Add the milk and mix batter is uniform and smooth.
  • Fold in the mango puree.
  • Fill baking cups about 2/3 full and bake for 13-15 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  • Remove cupcakes from baking pan and transfer to a cooling rack. Cool to room temperature before frosting.
  • Mix together strawberry puree and confectioner sugar. Fill cupcakes with this filling before frosting.

Whipped Strawberry Buttercream

2 sticks unsalted butter
3 cups confectioner sugar
2 tablespoons heavy cream
1 teaspoon lemon extract
2 tablespoons strawberry puree

  • In stand mixer, cream butter until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes.
  • Add confectioner sugar, heavy cream, extract and puree and mix for about 5 minutes.

Notes:
I have been doing this non swirly piping tip thing with my cupcake frosting.  Although I do love my fancy swirls made with different piping tips, this one is growing on me as well… its really easy too!

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

