Lemon Scones with Dried Wild Blueberries

Dried blueberries are amazing! Blueberry Lemon Scones

I am not quite sure why I am just realizing this, but after my friend shared some trail mix she made with dried blueberries, cocoa nibs and roasted almonds and I had to force myself to stop eating them all, I knew I needed to get some of these lovely blue jewels!  I quickly went to Trader Joe’s to get a bag of their dried wild blueberries and began thinking of something I could make to showcase them.  After much deliberation, I decided to make some scones infused with lots of lemon zest, the wonderful dried blueberries and a glaze made with fresh lemon juice and zest.  And yes, lemon and anything is a favorite flavor combination!Grated Butter

Did you see my grated butter up there?  I read somewhere that this was another way to accomplish the distribution of the cold butter in pastries.   It works well and does make for a pretty picture, but it takes WORK!   I felt like I would never finish grating the butter!  I should say that my butter was frozen, so that could have contributed to the extra effort involved.  I decided to forgo using my trusty food processor because I didn’t want to damage my beautiful blueberries.  I probably could have used the processor for the butter portion, then added the wet ingredients and blueberries, but I wanted to give this new way a try.   Glad I did, because did you see those lovely butter curls!Grated Butter 2

My definition of scones is that they are sweeter and butterier (not sure if that is an actual word) biscuits.  In theory, this means that they should be very good, but unfortunately I have had my fair share of really bad scones… like those terribly dry ones that require a lot of liquid just to get them down.  For this recipe, I think that all the butter keeps it moist and well… buttery!  And the glaze helps as well!  Now that I think about it, I believe that a shortcake biscuit might just be a glorified version of the scone, maybe?!?  So then, should I call these blueberry shortcake biscuits?  And perhaps top one with ice cream and fresh blueberries, yummmm… Must make soon!

Dried Blueberries and Lemon Collage

Whatever we call them, I can tell you that they are really good and that you should make them and then eat them everyday in your car with your morning coffee while driving to work until you run out… well, that’s just a suggestion, but I can tell you that system worked quite nicely for me!  If you haven’t already tried dried blueberries, please do, you won’t be disappointed!  I can’t wait to find new ways to use this ingredient and would love to hear from you if you have some favorite ways of using dried blueberries.

glazed lemon blueberry scone collage

Lemon Scones with Dried Wild Blueberries
Recipe adapted from Bonappetit, Fast, Fresh, Easy Cookbook
Makes 12 scones

3 cups self rising flour
1/2 cup sugar
3/4 cup chilled, unsalted butter cut into small cubes
1 1/2 cups dried wild blueberries
1 cup plus 1 tablespoon buttermilk
1 1/2 tablespoon finely grated lemon peel

  • Preheat oven 425 degrees and position rack in top third of the oven
  • Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper
  • Whisk flour and 1/2 cup sugar in a large bowl
  • Grate butter into flour mixture (or use fingers to rub butter into flour mixture until size of small peas)
  • Add dried blueberries and toss to coat
  • Mix 1 cup buttermilk and lemon peel in separate bowl
  • Pour buttermilk mixture into flour mixture and stir until dough begins to form.
  • Transfer to a floured surface and knead a couple times until it comes together, don’t handle the dough too much or you will melt all that dough you so carefully grated.
  • Cut out scones into desiderd shapes or wedges, whatever you like best and then transfer scones to prepared baking sheet.
  • Brush tops with remaining buttermilk and sprinkle remaining sugar
  • Bake for 15 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

ENJOY!

2 thoughts on “Lemon Scones with Dried Wild Blueberries

    • Thanks Tamika! You have a lovely blog as well, I can be a world traveler vicariously through your blog, Love it! Hope you like the scones when you make them, let me know how yours turn out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

