Loving Leftovers ~ Mini Strawberry Shortcake Trifles

Mini Strawberry Trifle collage

I recently made a cake that I didn’t really need.   Well, actually in my world cake is always needed and wanted, but I should say that didn’t really have a distinct purpose for making the cake at that time… except that I had a new bundt pan that I was dying to try out, I mean check out this pan… wouldn’t you want to make something if you had a pan that looked like this!

Beautiful Bundt Pan

So, with no other reason than that I wanted to give this lovely new pan a whirl, I made quick buttermilk pound cake.  I am happy to report that the pan is as wonderful as I had hoped it would be and the cake was really good!  But, now I had a whole cake and no one, save myself, to eat it.  I know, not a major problem, it was a small(er) bundt pan after all,  but I couldn’t justify eat an entire cake myself, nor could I eat the same dessert every day, that wouldn’t be any fun!  So, I enjoyed a couple pieces, shared a couple pieces then decided to mix it up a bit and make a couple Mini Strawberry Shortcake Trifles!

Mini Strawberry Shortcake Trifle

I filled the layers of the trifle with macerated strawberries, italian meringue buttercream and of course my leftover cake.  In my opinion it greatly elevated my humble little buttermilk cake to gourmet dessert status!  A fancy weeknight dessert!

Unnecessary Cakes

Mini Strawberry Shortcake Trifles

Mini Strawberry Shortcake Trifles

  • 1 lovely leftover cake (mine was vanilla, but chocolate would be nice as well)
  • 1 batch Italian meringue buttercream (or regular buttercream or whipped cream or vanilla pudding, just use something nice and creamy)
  • 1 -2 cups strawberries, mixed with 1-2 teaspoons sugar, to taste.

You can cut the cake layers using a small round cutter or just crumble the cake like I did on the top later.  Have fun layering the cake and strawberries and cream.  I used a small glass and one of those clear plastic cups to build the trifle in.  Oh, remember to take lots of pictures, because it will be pretty and you will want to remember the moment.

ENJOY!

 

One thought on “Loving Leftovers ~ Mini Strawberry Shortcake Trifles

Leave a Reply

