Sunday Muffins ~ Cranberry, Orange and Pecan Muffins

Muffin and CookbookMuffins are so to easy to make and it is really dangerous for me that I can so easily throw together ingredients and end up with such goodness!  Because it is Sunday I decided to treat myself to some muffins!

I like the combination of cranberries and oranges, lemons too, but today I decided to go with oranges.   It’s something about the orange citrus and tartness of cranberries that just seems to work together. I had a couple pecans from a previous recipe, so I decided to add those to the mix as well.

This base for this muffin recipe came from my trusty Joy of Cooking cookbook.  I find myself going to this cookbook more and more, it has everything!  Between this book and my dear Dorie Greenspan cookbooks, I am in pretty good shape.  Of course,  that doesn’t mean that I have or will stop buying cookbooks, never that!  I love cookbooks, I can actually can sit and read a good cookbook like I would a good novel.  But enough about my love of cookbooks, let me tell you how to make some Sunday muffins.

Mix your wet and dry ingredients together…  then add your cranberries, orange zest and pecans.  Make sure you add enough, you want these flavors to really stand out.

cranberry orange pecan muffin collage

Bake the muffins until golden brown and then split open to revel in all the goodness inside…  see all those flecks of orange zest and the bits of cranberry, that’s exactly what you want!

muffin collage

Of course butter is then slathered on the muffin and a warm muffin is quickly eaten and then more butter is slathered on a second muffin and another muffin is eaten (image not shown, but you can just imagine how good that looked)

Cranberry, Orange and Pecan MuffinsOranges
Slightly adapted recipe from Joy of Cooking
Makes 6 muffins

1 cup all purpose flour
1/2 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
Zest from one orange
1/4 cup dried cranberries, soaked in warm water
1/8 cup toasted pecans
1 egg
1/2 cup milk
1/3 cup brown sugar, packed
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/2 teaspoon vanilla

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  • Line muffin pan with liners or spray with cooking spray.
  • Whisk together flour, baking powder, salt and nutmeg. Add zest, drained cranberries and toasted pecans, mix to incorporate.
  • In a separate bowl, combine egg, milk, brown sugar, vegetable oil and vanilla.
  • Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix just until everything is combined, do not over mix.
  • Fill batter evenly among muffin pan, about 3/4 full.
  • Bake for about 17 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.
  • Remove from pan and let cool for 5 minutes.

ENJOY!

One thought on “Sunday Muffins ~ Cranberry, Orange and Pecan Muffins

Leave a Reply

