Special Order ~ Bridal Shower Sugar Cookies

I like a challenge every now and then… 

Sugar Cookie bordered

Especially in the kitchen!  So when a co-worker that tasted some of my holiday sugar cookies, asked me if I could make some cookies for a bridal shower she was hosting in May, I was both excited and honored.  That is until I received an email with pictures of some ‘inspiration cookies‘ on Pinterest which looked like an accomplished artist had decided to create their masterpiece on a wedding gown shaped cookie!!  I quickly emailed my co-worker to tell her that I could make the cookies, but that I was not an accomplished artist and that I would still  love the opportunity to come up with a couple samples to show her what I could do… with no pressure to use them if my work was not up to par.  She assured me that the pictures were only for inspiration and that she would be happy with whatever I came up with, but after seeing the pictures… I knew I had to come correct!  So, I fully immersed myself in preparations to make beautiful cookies.

Of course I had to make a trip to my favorite local baking supply store , the Cake & Wedding Cottage, to get a couple cute cookie cutters…  love this store!

Sugar Cookie Cutters

I used my favorite sugar cookie recipe which, without fail produces perfect sugar cookies!

Sugar Cookies Unadorned

I know a lot of people use royal icing or the meringue powder to decorate sugar cookies, but I personally don’t care for the way that it tastes.  Plus it hardens way too much and I think it takes away from the goodness of the cookies.  This confectioner sugar icing I used hardens nicely, but when you bite into the cookie (yes, I tested several to make sure), the icing is firm, but not hard.  It will definitely stand up to whatever type of decorating or special packaging you might need to do.

Sugar Cookies Iced

So, without further ado, here are my little lovelies!

Sugar Cookies ALL

Sugar Cookie collage

I was so pleased with how they turned out and even better my co-worker liked them!  She actually said, “these are amazing!!!”   So, I now have my first official order for sugar cookies…  I will be making three dozen cookies for the bridal shower!  Yay!

Perfect Sugar Cookies
Recipe inspired by Bake at 350

3 cup all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 cup sugar
2 sticks salted butter, cold and cut into small pieces.
1 egg
3/4 teaspoons real vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon real almond extract

  • In a separate bowl combine flour and baking powder and whisk well. Cream butter and sugar together in bowl of stand mixer. Add egg, vanilla and almond extracts. Add flour mixture in three stages and mix until combined, but know that the mixture will still be quite crumbly.
  • Place one sheet of wax paper on the counter and dump the dough out of the mixer. You will have to knead it a bit to help it come together.
  • Roll out the dough to 1/4 inch to 3/8 inch thick. Cut into the shapes and place cut shapes on baking sheet and place in the freezer for 5-7 minutes.
  • Remove from freezer and bake for 10-12 minutes. Be sure not to overcook, you don’t want crispy brown edges!
  • Let cool for a few minutes on the cutting board and then place the cookies on a cooling rack to cool completely.

Sugar Cookie Icing
Inspired by I Am Baker

2 cup confectioner sugar
2.5 – 3 tablespoons milk
2 tablespoons light corn syrup
lemon juice (2-3 drops)
1/4 teaspoon clear extract, like almond extract (optional)

  • Whisk together ingredients until smooth.
  • For the first glaze you will need a thicker consistency for outlining, so the above proportions will work.
  • For the flooding, you will need to add another tablespoon of milk to thin the mixture for flooding.

Notes:

Sugar cookies 2a

  • I let the sugar cookies dry with the first coat (white coat) for about 3 hours.
  • If you want a true white base DO NOT use regular vanilla extract in your icing because it will tint the icing.  Use clear vanilla extract or something other clear flavoring (lemon, almond, orange).
  • If you are going to color your icing, use vanilla until your hearts content.
  • To apply sprinkles, lightly coat the area when you want to place the sprinkles with very thin later of the diluted glaze, sprinkle well with sprinkles and shake off the excess.
  • Use wax paper under your cookies when applying sprinkles so that you can easily recycle the sprinkles and to use again.
  • When drying the icing do not put them in a container, just let them dry out in the open.
  • After cookies are finished, store them in an airtight container and layer them with wax paper in between.

ENJOY!

2 thoughts on “Special Order ~ Bridal Shower Sugar Cookies

  1. Pingback: Special Order ~ Birthday Cupcakes ~ Chocolate Kahlua and Pineapple Rum | Savor.Good.Food

  2. Pingback: Special Order – Housewarming Sugar Cookies | Savor.Good.Food

Leave a Reply

