Meyer Lemon Mini Pound Cakes (+Bonus Recipe!)

Perhaps if we all eat more recipes with lemons Spring will decide to come…  

mini loaves and lemons

I know I am late to the party related to Meyer Lemons… all over the blog world recipes have already been posted about the wonders of Meyer lemons.  Well, I had never had the pleasure of tasting or making anything with them, that is until I happened upon them at Trader Joe’s!  You have never seen someone so excited about finding a lemon!   In honor of my discovery I felt like I needed to make something worthy of these beauties.  I mean, they are quite beautiful!IMG_20130227_211739

I decided to make mini loaves with loads of meyer lemon zest and juice.

mini lemon loaves

I have to be honest, I look for reasons to use this mini loaf pan.  It produces perfect mini loaves.  I purchased mine from Sur la table and love it!  I used this size for gift giving over the holidays and it worked perfect!ly!.

The pound cake recipe I used for these was an old faithful.  Ina Garten’s Lemon Pound Cake recipe.  Because I can’t leave good enough alone, I decided to embellish my cute little pound cake with some vanilla ice cream and a couple raspberries and blackberries.  It was perfect!

IMG_20130228_225625

Meyer Lemon Mini Pound Cakes

Based on this Barefoot Contessa recipe
Makes 5 mini loaves

1/4 pound unsalted butter, room temperature
1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
3 large eggs, at room temperature (Ina uses extra large, but I have made the adjustment for this recipe)
4 meyer lemons zested and juiced
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 cup freshly squeezed meyer lemon juice
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons buttermilk, at room temperature
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350°F (175°C). Spray mini loaf pan with non stick spray.

Cream the butter and 1 cups granulated sugar in mixer fitted with the paddle attachment on medium speed (4-5 on KitchenAid), until light and fluffy (about 5 minutes)

Turn down the mixer and add eggs one at a time making sure they are well incorporated after each addition.

Add in the lemon zest and mix until well incorporated.

In bowl add the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt and whisk ingredients together.

In another bowl, combine 1/4 cup lemon juice, the buttermilk, and vanilla. Add the flour and buttermilk mixtures alternately to the batter, beginning and ending with the flour.

Divide the batter evenly between the mini loaf pans. I filled them using an ice cream scoop, using two scoops per loaf.

Bake for 30-35 minutes, start checking after 30 minutes, making sure that a toothpick comes out clean.

Combine 1/4 cup granulated sugar with 1/4 cup lemon juice in a small saucepan and cook over low heat until the sugar dissolves and makes a syrup.

Let cakes cool for about 10 minutes, once the cakes are cooled remove them from the pan.

Spoon syrup over the cakes, if you want you can poke holes into the cake and add the syrup, however the syrup does seep into the cake well without the extra holes.

Notes:

The original recipe calls for a confectioner sugar glaze, I opted to leave this off in this recipe, however I have made this glaze and it is good!

Now for the BONUS

Rum Infused Chocolate Banana Bread!!

Another recipe I made with my cute mini loaf pan.  This recipe makes exactly six mini loaves.  These were made using this wonderful recipe by Joy the Baker.  I simply substituted the bourbon for dark rum.  Oh, and these are pretty potent so please eat responsibly!  ENJOY!

rum infused banana chocolate chip bread

Leave a Reply

