Mommy Inspired Blueberry Muffins

Try as I might, there are just some recipes that I can’t quite master, especially a couple of my mom’s recipes.  Her blueberry muffins are definitely one of them.  When I think of these muffins I also remember my granddaddy, Reese T…  I always loved his name!  Whenever he would come in town my mom would make these for him, they were his favorite.  In fact, I think I looked forward to him coming not only because I love him and liked spending time with him, but also because I knew that his arrival would also bring these muffins. Blueberry Muffin 4 These are not exactly like my mom’s blueberry muffins because I have already established that I haven’t mastered that recipe, however I do love them so I made a version that is “inspired” by hers. I have concluded that when people say something is “inspired by” someone, it is really an acknowledgment that it isn’t quite as good as theirs… at least that’s the case here.  So, Mommy, you can feel free to make some for me, show me how its supposed to be done!!

For my version I decided to add lemon, because, well… I like lemon and thought that it would brighten the overall flavor. Blueberry Muffin Makings Muffin recipes are really quite easy to throw together.  Its as simple as mixing all your dry ingredients and then mixing your wet ingredients and then combining the two… without over mixing!   I think that over mixing will bring sure death (and toughness) to what could be a perfectly good muffin. Blueberry Muffin Batter Wet and Dry

blueberry and batter I used a large ice cream scoop to fill these to 3/4 full.  It is important to fill everything as evenly as possible to ensure that everything bakes at the same pace.  A quick word about pans.  I strongly believe that the type of pan you bake in really matters. I went through a phase where I thought that the silicone pans were THE best choice for baking.  I guess I jumped on that bandwagon!   I figured, no sticking and easy removal would make for the best baking environment.  I have since changed my view on silicone baking products.  I am sure that they are good for some baking, but for muffins what I find works best are the old fashioned metal pans.  They always achieve excellent rise for my baked good, sure you may have to grease the edges to prevent potential sticking, but the results can’t be beat.  Well, that’s my baking advice for the day! Blueberry Muffin collage So, these are not as good a my mommy’s, but I think they still turned out pretty good… I am not sure anything is ever as good as when your mom makes it.  I want to believe that it is because they put all that special love into what they make and not because they leave out important elements of the recipe… just kidding, my mommy would never do that… RIGHT?!?! blueberry muffins 3

Hope you enjoy the muffin recipe OR just get your mommy to make you some!  Hint hint!!  🙂  ENJOY!! Blueberry Muffins 1

Blueberry Lemon Muffins

2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 tbsp lemon zest
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup whole milk
2 eggs
1/2 cup canola or vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 cups blueberries

Glaze

1/2 cup confectioner sugar
2 tbsp lemon juice

To make the muffins

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line muffin tin with paper liners. Lightly grease top of muffin tin to prevent sticking.

In a medium bowl, rub lemon zest into sugar. Add flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt to lemon sugar. Whisk to combine.

In separate bowl, mix milk, eggs, oil and vanilla until well combined.

Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients, mix until just combined. DO NOT over mix. Add blueberries and mix until blueberries are distributed through batter.

Using an ice cream scoop or a measuring cup, evenly divide in muffin liners.

Bake muffins for 18-20 minutes or until a tester comes out clean when removed.

To make the glaze

Combine the confectioner sugar and lemon juice.  Drizzle generously over cooled blueberry muffins.

2 thoughts on “Mommy Inspired Blueberry Muffins

  1. These look beautiful and delightful! Funny how the things someone else used to make for us never taste quite the same when we make them ourselves! I think mothers and grandmothers use some sort of voodoo magic to ensure we can never recreate their recipes totally!

    Re: overmixing – I think this is the biggest avoidable error most people make. Overmixing is the absolute death of something that should be tender/flaky/light, etc. Pie crusts, cake batter, etc. are all easily wrecked by overmixing. However, our beloved Italian Meringue is saved by beating into submission, as you may remember! 🙂

  2. Well thank you daughter! It truly still amazes me that your culinary skills ( note the fancy word) have grown to such a magnitude since you avoided the kitchen as though it was a consuming plague. 🙂
    They look delicious…only problem, no me, no coffee and no you!! Your granddaddy would be so very proud!

Leave a Reply

