Chocolate Decadence

It all started with this cake…

Amazing Chocolate Cake 3

I’m pretty sure that my love affair with baking started with this cake.

It’s not a particularly fancy cake, but it is a really REALLY good cake. It’s the kind of cake that you can always feel safe making to take to parties, potlucks or the like. It’s the kind of cake that you can make to celebrate birthdays, showers and holidays. It’s the kind of cake that makes you look good no matter what the occasion! It makes you look like you might just know your way around a kitchen!

This is my go to cake. I think that everyone should have a special cake in their arsenal that is their go to cake. When asked to make a cake, this is usually the first one that comes to mind. There are so many wonderful cake flavors and I often make myself choose another cake to make, just to stretch my baking skills and try new things. However in the back of my mind, I am hoping that whatever I make will be as good and reliable as this one and in fact become a new go to cake.

Cupcakes Choc

You can add all kinds of flavors and combinations with this recipe.  I’ve done this cake with blackberry, raspberry, strawberry and cherry frosting.  I’ve made it with a vanilla frosting and drizzled it with chocolate ganache…  when I’m feeling fancy, I tend to drizzle things with chocolate ganache!  I’ve topped it with peanut butter frosting (I love chocolate and peanut butter).  I’ve used this recipe to make cupcakes and baby cakes.  This recipe never fails.

And the frosting… It all starts with chocolate.

bowl of chocolate

Mixed with butter, vanilla and powdered sugar…

Chocolate dollops

Its light and fluffy, but still rich and chocolaty.

Cupcake on high

Yep, my love affair with baking definitely began with chocolate cake.

The recipe for this cake can be found here.  This is a really moist cake that will remain moist for several days.

The frosting recipe is also inspired by the Barefoot Contessa.  I opted to leave out the coffee powder and egg yolk.

Chocolate Buttercream

6 ounces semisweet chocolate
2 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 1/3 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar

Melt chocolate in microwave or in a heat proof bowl over boiling water.

In stand mixer, beat the butter on medium speed (4) until butter is light and fluffy, about 3-4 minutes. Add the vanilla and mix to incorporate.

Turn down the mixer and add the confectioner sugar, mix slowly at first, then turn it up to fully incorporate.

Turn down mixer, add all the chocolate and mix to combine.

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Decadence

  1. Pingback: Champagne Mango and Strawberry Cupcakes | Savor.Good.Food

  2. Pingback: Jewelry and Desserts | Savor.Good.Food

  3. Pingback: Reese’s Peanut Butter Cake | Savor.Good.Food

Leave a Reply

