Tuesdays with Dorie ~ Mocha Chocolate Chip Cookies

MCCC Whole

First, let me say how excited I am to be a part of the Tuesdays with Dorie group.  Before I had a blog, I remember seeing the Tuesday with Dorie posts (or TWD as it is listed on most sites) and wishing that I could participate.  I was a little sad when I realized that I couldn’t because I didn’t have a blog to showcase my work.  Now I do, so I will be posting recipes every now and then from the new book we are working through, Baking with Julia.

I was first introduced to Dorie Greenspan (well not actually Dorie Greenspan, but her books!) when a dear friend and co-worker Kevin gave me a copy of both Baking from My Home to Yours and Around My French Table… amazing gift, right!!  I have treasured those books and since receiving them have been in love with Dorie Greenspan’s work.  Thanks Kevin!!

Now on to this months TWD recipe, Mocha Chocolate Chip Cookies.

MCCC EN MASS 3

I guess I have unknowingly been on a quest for the perfect chocolate chip cookie.  Whenever I find a new recipe, I rush to try it in hope that it will be come The One.  I was very excited to be starting out my TWD experience with a chocolate chip cookie recipe, especially one that has the addition of coffee (which I love).  The starting players are pretty standard… except for the use of white sugar and dark brown sugar (which I didn’t have enough of, therefore the split brown sugars).

Butter and Sugar Collage

Flour along with the ‘Mocha’ part of the cookie… Mocha Flour Mix

The chocolate and apricots…  I used a mix of chocolate, a good semi sweet chocolate that I chopped and milk chocolate chips. chocolate and apricot

All mixed together produces cute little cookie dough.Mocha Apricot and Chocolate Cooking Dough

So, apricots in chocolate chip cookies, really?  I wasn’t too sure about this, but I am a strong believer in trying new things. Plus, I figured I like chocolate covered dried fruit, I like the addition of apricot in trail mix that has chocolate, I like chocolate and apricot separately, so I thought I would give it a try.  Just in case I found that I didn’t care for the apricot, I split the dough and added apricots to half of the batch.  So, the verdict… I loved the apricot in these cookies.  SO soooo so good!!  You should definitely try it, at least once.  These cookies are really good.  The mocha and dark chocolate adds a nice depth of flavor to the regular chocolate chip cookie.  The cookies are CHOCOLATY!!!  I mean REALLY ooey gooey chocolaty!  Every single bite you get a hit of chocolate.  Its like chocolate held together by a little flour.  These cookies also maintain their chewiness, which I like… but the edges are a little crisp, which is just perfect for me!

This was ONE of MANY cookies that I ‘tested’ just to make sure that they would be good enough to share!

Mocha Chocolate Chip Cookie

Then I ‘tested’ it again the following night… with ice cream.  Yep, still good.  I guess I can share them now.

Cookies and Cream

This recipe can be found in the wonderful book Baking with Julia and Peggy’s site Galettista.

ENJOY!

13 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie ~ Mocha Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. What good pictures!!!! I especially like the one with melted chocolate!!!! Yummy!!!!
    I enjoyed this cookies too, the combination of all these ingredients give a unique flavor!

  2. Great you are baking along! Great post and cookies!
    One of the reason I’ve decided to writen a blog was this great baking group, indeed!
    I loved these Mocha chocolate chips…I’ve doubled the ingredients (with some changes), split the dough into 4 portions and added different ingredients (such as orange, pecan+walnuts, dried cherries, almonds): A WINNER!

  3. Welcome to the group! I love being a part of TWD as it gives me a lot of inspiration to keep my blog going AND challenges me to try new things as a baker. Glad you enjoyed your first recipe!

  4. Welcome! I too loved the apricots in these cookies. A lot of the bakers left them out – me, I tend to lean toward the “odd” recipes. Your cookies are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

