Savoring Sunday Dinner ~ Beef with Wine and Cream

I love Sunday Dinner.

Beef with wine and cream 3

There is something special about Sunday dinner.  It’s usually the day when friends and family come together.  Even if the week is filled with quick casual meals, Sundays are when people take time to gather and fellowship.  For me, Sunday dinner is usually after I attend church and I am not sure what it is about church that makes me so hungry, but I am some kind of hungry after I leave!  Even if I don’t have crowd of people eating with me, I still try to take time to make a special meal to enjoy.  If I can share it with others, even better.  I thought that I would share my Sunday dinner with you.

This week I decided to adapt a recipe that I thoroughly enjoyed the first time I made it.  It is the Short Ribs with Wine and Cream recipe by the Pioneer Woman.  I made a couple changes based on what I had on hand.  It is a wonderful recipe and tastes even better the next day.

I decided to make it with beef stew meat, the short ribs, although my favorite, were way to expensive!  Beef and seared collage

Some nice merlot for the beef to relax in.

beef and wine collage

I didn’t have any mushrooms, so I figured I would caramelize some onions… caramelized onions are always an appropriate substitute.onion collage

I made baked brown rice to serve with this over.  Oh, if you haven’t discovered the miracle of baking brown rice, you have truly been missing out.  For some reason I have always struggled with brown rice, that is until I discovered baked brown rice!  One hour, I mean ONLY one hour in the oven and you have perfectly cooked brown rice… every time!  Yep, definitely a miracle!  You too can experience this miracle in your life.  rice collage

A nice salad…

Perfect Salad

And dinner is served!

Sunday dinner 2

Beef with Wine and Cream

Recipe based on Pioneer Woman, Short Ribs with Wine and Cream

2 lbs beef for stewing, cut into cubes
3 Tablespoons Olive Oil
1 1/2 cups Red Wine
3 cups Beef Broth
1 tablespoons dried Rosemary
1 1/2 tablespoons stone ground mustard
1 1/2 cups heavy cream
1 1/2 tablespoons Capers, drained
1 large onion, sliced thick

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Add 2 tablespoons olive oil to pan over medium-high heat.  Season beef well with salt and pepper.  Add half beef to pan and sear on all sides, about 1-2 minutes.  Remove first batch of beef from pan and sear second batch. Remove second batch.

In same pan, pour wine and beef broth to the pan, add rosemary.   Return the beef to the pan and let come to low boil.

Place pan in oven and let cook for 2-3 hours.

At this point the meat should be nice and tender, remove the meat from wine/broth mixture. Add mustard, capers and heavy cream to pan. Let this mixture come to a boil and then reduce heat. After about 8 minutes or so the mixture should thicken up a bit.

Return meat back to gravy and let cook on low.

In medium pan, add 1 tablespoon of oil.  Add sliced onions and cook on medium heat until nice and caramelized

During the last hour of cooking time for the main dish, make your Baked Brown Rice.

Baked Brown Rice

1 1/2 cups brown rice
2 1/2 cups hot water
1 tablespoon olive oil or butter
salt and pepper

Heat oven to 375 degrees.

In a casserole dish or small dutch oven, add rice, boiling water, olive oil and salt and pepper. stir to combine.

Place top of casserole dish or cover tightly with foil.

Place in oven and cook for 1 hour.

Revel in the miracle of baked brown rice.

ENJOY!

One thought on “Savoring Sunday Dinner ~ Beef with Wine and Cream

  1. Is the temperature for cooking the rice the same as in the recipe? The dish and presentation was beautiful! I am impressed that you take the time to cook such inspired dishes just for one!

Leave a Reply

