Savor.Good.Food… in New Orleans

New Orleans is a food mecca.

The first time I traveled here I literally ate my way through the city.  There is so much to choose from.  This time I happened upon Cafe Amelie, a really quaint restaurant tucked away in a classic New Orleans courtyard.Cafe Amelie

Isn’t the courtyard nice!

Cafe Amelie Exterior

I ordered the oven roasted center cut pork chop with corn and andouille maque choux and old mill grits.  This was amazing!!  Absolutely amazing!  This is not a light dish, the maque choux is a traditional dish of Louisiana.  It is basically creamy, stewed corn with the addition of some good flavoring (like andouille or bacon).  It’s definitely something that will be on my Recipe Bucket List.

cafe amelie roasted pork

I also had a mixed berry cobbler, tasted like blackberries, raspberries and maybe strawberries.  The crumble crust was really good and there was just enough ice cream.

Mixed Berry Cobbler

In addition to ALL the good food which is definitely plentiful in New Orleans, the sights, sounds and shopping are also quite nice as well.  I loved these signs in the store Roux Royale.

signs

I also LOVED these measuring cups and spoons.

measuring cups

Although I have nowhere to hang a chandelier of such grandeur in my house, it is quite pretty!

Chandi

And one final, but absolutely amazing sight, was of this church… no words are necessary, it was just amazing.

Jesus Shadow

Leave a Reply

