Good Granola

There’s nothing like good granola.

Not all granola is created equal.  In my days I have definitely had some not so good granola, which is really unfortunate!  In the past I always ate store bought granola and found myself wishing that it had more or less of one thing or another. So, I finally decided to make it myself and I am SO glad that I did.  I eat granola with yogurt all the time, but I also eat it by itself as a quick snack.  My standard recipe has lots of nuts and on occasion I will add dried fruit.  But, because I like to add fresh fruit to my yogurt with the granola, I often leave off the dried fruit.  To me, its just too much going on with the dried and fresh fruit mix.

This granola was accompanied with some beautiful fresh blueberries.

IMG_20130122_075052

When I make granola, I tend to make it in bulk as it doesn’t tend to last long.

IMG_20130124_214320

Thought I would share my recipe with you, so you can have the joy of good granola in your life.

Mixed Nut Granola

Servings – depends on how hungry you are, but about 5 cups.

3.5 cups  rolled oats (not instant)
3/4 cup  sliced raw almonds
1/2 cup pecans, unsalted
1/2 cup walnuts
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup canola oil
1/2 cup honey or agave
2.5 tablespoons  light brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup dried fruits (optional, but when I do add them, I like cranberries and apricots)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Line a line a baking sheet with parchment paper or if you spray the sheet with butter spray,like Pam.

In a large bowl combine the rolled oats, nuts, ground cinnamon, and salt.

In a small saucepan, bring to a simmer, the water, oil, honey/agave, brown sugar, and vanilla extract. Pour this mixture over the dry ingredients and mix well so that all ingredients are coated.  Spread onto the prepared baking sheet and bake for about 30 – 40 minutes or until it reaches a golden brown to your liking.

Throughout the process you will need to stir the mixture so that everything browns evenly.   Once you reach your desired color of brown, remove the granola from the oven and place the tray on a wire rack to cool.

Notes:

The granola will still be a little soft once take it out the oven.   Don’t do like I did the first time I made granola and try to cook it until it gets crunchy.  This will cause it to become a dark brown, which is not good.  Trust me, once it cools, it will get crunchy and wonderful.

Store the granola in a ziploc bag or in mason jars.  It will keep for several weeks… as long as you don’t eat it before then.

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

