A Celebration Cake

Favorite colors… Red, black and white.

It’s fun to make something that will fit a certain theme.  I was asked to make a birthday cake for a party where the colors would be red, black and white.  At first, I wasn’t so sure what I might do.  The cake would be for a 13 year old boy’s party.  So, I couldn’t do anything that was too “girly.”   However, whether for boy or girl, adult or child, I just believe that cakes should be pretty!  

Birthday cake 1

I decided to do a combination of red velvet and vanilla cake.  Two layers of red velvet with a layer of vanilla sandwiched in the middle.

IMG_20130223_094402

It was a towering cake…

Cake layers

I made my favorite whipped vanilla frosting.

IMG_20130223_094736

Of course we had to do candles… black and white candles.

birthday cake with candles

And, because I had left over vanilla batter, I made a couple cupcakes… with red frosting and black and white sprinkles.

IMG_20130223_102134

I think that the birthday boy was pleased!!

Red Velvet-Vanilla Cake Recipe

I used this wonderful red velvet cake recipe from the Leite’s Culinaria site.

I used this vanilla cake recipe from Pastry Affair.   I am always in search of a good vanilla cake recipe and I am really liking this one right now.

I used this a double batch of whipped vanilla frosting recipe by Sweetapolita… one of my favorite frosting recipes!

Notes:

The vanilla cake recipe will provide enough batter for one 8-inch cake layer and 6 cupcakes.

The red velvet cake batter provides enough batter for two 8-inch cake layers.

For all the filling and decorations, I doubled the batch of frosting.

2 thoughts on “A Celebration Cake

  1. Pingback: Practice Makes Perfect ~ Cupcake Decorating | Savor.Good.Food

  2. Pingback: Cupcakes for a Baby Blessing | Savor.Good.Food

Leave a Reply

