Apple Pie Love

There’s nothing like a good homemade apple pie…  just look at it sitting there looking all pretty!

image

My mom makes the best apple pie with the BEST crust, but this one… this here pie is running a close second!

image

I need to say a few things about the wonderful contraption shown below, the amazing apple peeler/corer… the tool that makes my apple pies possible! I remember when I first encountered this kitchen jewel… I was still in high school, or maybe it was middle school and my mom and I were at a Pampered Chef party.  The lady showed us the tool and how it worked and I knew at that moment that I needed it in my life.  Before this tool came into my life, I WAS the apple peeler.   Whenever my mom wanted to make an apple pie she would call ME into the kitchen to peel the apples… all the apples!  Back then it felt like millions of apples that I had to peel!   I remember begging my mom to buy it and she said something like, ‘why should I buy it, I already have an apple peeler!’  Its funny now, but I didn’t think it was funny back then!  I begged (and begged) and eventually she purchased it!  Thank you Pampered Chef!

image

For years I avoided making my own crust, I opted for the store bought crust that you roll out…  those aren’t bad, but there is nothing like homemade crust.  My crust has not been perfected just yet, but my mom’s… I don’t even have words to describe it, its just that good!  The ingredients for making crust are very simple, but I think that the technique is what makes the difference between a great crust and a not so good crust.  I’m still trying to perfect the technique, but practice makes perfect… for now mine is pretty good… working on great!

image

Oh, and I decided to try a new crimping method for this pie… not too shabby if I do say so myself!

image

I think that apple pie and ice cream were meant to be one.  I mean, what’s better than warm apple pie with homemade vanilla bean ice cream oozing into the apple goodness?  At this moment, I can’t think of any better than that, well actually if you added a good cup of coffee to that combo… Now, that would be perfection!

Apple pie and ice cream

If you haven’t tried to make an  apple pie… you should definitely give it a try!

Okay, one more picture to try to convince you to get to baking!  Oh, and I’d love to see pictures of your apple pie if you decide to make one!   :)

image

image

Apple Pie 

For Filling

6-8 apples, depending on size (I used granny smith and honey crisp)
3/4 – 1 cup sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 tbsp flour
1/2 stick unsalted butter

For Crust

2 1/2 cups flour
1 tablespoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 stick COLD butter
1/2 cup COLD shortening
3/4 cup ice water + 1 tsp vinegar
1 egg and 1 teaspoon of water, mixed for egg wash

Prepare Crust

  • In food processor add flour, sugar, salt, butter and shortening and pulse 4-5 times.
  • Add ice water (but not chunks of ice!) and vinegar mixture to flour and butter and pulse just until starts to come together.
  • Dump mixture out on a floured board or counter top, divide mixture evenly and form into a ball and then flatten into a round disk.  Cover in plastic wrap and place in the refrigerator to rest for at least 1 hour.
  • Once the dough has rested, roll out the dough to about 2 inches larger than your pie dish, roll the dough up on your rolling pin and roll it out over the pie pan.

Prepare Filling

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  • Core and slice your apples and add them to a large bowl
  • Add the sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla and flour and mix well.
  • Taste an apple (or two!) for sweetness and seasoning and adjust as needed.
  • Add chunks of butter to apple and add apples to pie plate
  • Roll out the dough for the top crust, roll around rolling pin and pick the dough up and roll it out over the apple filling.
  • Fold the top dough up and under the bottom dough to seal the two layers.  You will have a thick edge of crust to work with and create a pretty scallop or you can use a fork to create a pattern on the edge…have fun and make it pretty!
  • Using a knife or fork, make a couple vents on the top of the pie.
  • Brush the pie with the egg and water mixture, place the pie pan on a cookie sheet (just in case some of the juices overflow a bit!) and bake the pie for about 60 minutes or until the crust is a pretty golden brown.

ENJOY!

2 thoughts on “Apple Pie Love

Leave a Reply

