Buttermilk Apple Pancakes

Yes, these pancakes are talking to you…

No, you are not going crazy.  Yes, they did tell you to make some, NOW!  Buttermilk Apple Pancakes 1

Today I decided I needed wanted pancakes.  Not just any pancakes, but really good pancakes.  Pancakes are not something that I generally crave, so whenever I do, I feel like I should really do it up!!  I did a quick check to see what I had in the kitchen that would elevate my pancake experience.  Apple… cinnamon… buttermilk… butter… good syrup…  So, Buttermilk Apple Pancakes it is!

Buttermilk Apple Pancakes 2

Pancakes are really easy to make, there is not even a whole lot of technique to making them.  There are a couple things that help, such as letting the batter rest, using a good nonstick or cast iron pan and using a generous amount of butter to cook the pancakes.  However, other than that it is basically wet ingredients mixed into dry ingredients and then fold in the fruit.  Pretty easy!

Buttermilk apple pancakes 4

As these cooked the smell of the apples first hit me, then the cinnamon and that coupled with the bacon cooking away… such a wonderful thing!  I wasn’t sure I was going to last long enough to take the necessary pictures, but in the name of blogging I held out.  However, I didn’t overdo it with taking lots of pictures, so here is one last one…

Buttermilk Apple Pancakes with Hot Syrup and Bacon

I guess you can tell that I like a little syrup with my pancakes (and bacon)!  Glad that I made these, they definitely hit the spot!

Buttermilk Apple Pancakes
Makes 10 medium sized pancakes

3/4 All purpose flour
1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cinnamon
3/4 cup buttermilk (I made my own buttermilk by adding 1 tbsp of vinegar to 1 cup of whole milk)
1 1/2 tablespoons unsalted melted butter, additional melted butter for pan
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg
1 medium sized apple, peeled and diced into medium pieces

Directions:
In a large bowl, whisk together all dry ingredients.

In a separate bowl, whisk together all wet ingredients.

Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and whisk together until just combined.

Fold in the apples and let the batter sit for 10-15 minutes.

(Now would be a good time to begin making your bacon if you are so inclined.)

Heat a non stick pan over medium high heat, brush pan liberally with butter and begin adding your batter to the pan. I used a medium ice cream scoop to do this, but you could use whatever works for you depending on how big you want your pancakes.

Cook until bubbles appear on the pancake, this and the browning of the pancakes is the sign that it is time to flip the pancake. Lightly brown the other side and transfer the cooked pancakes to a plate.

One thought on “Buttermilk Apple Pancakes

Leave a Reply

